DaDesktop for Participants: How‑To Guide

Objective

This guide is designed for participants (students) looking to attend a course run on DaDesktop.

 

Overview of DaDesktop

DaDesktop is a cloud platform built specifically for IT education. It serves both instructors and learners by providing virtual desktops powered by the innovative DaDesktop® technology. In each session, every participant gets a complete online desktop environment where they can work on exercises under the trainer's supervision.

Its three main parts are:

  1. Management Console – a web-based interface for system administration, such as starting and stopping cloud desktops, etc.
  2. Training Room – a collaborative area for sharing the remote desktop, audio communication, chat, lesson recording, and more.
  3. Remote Desktop – a virtual machine (either Windows or Linux); each user gets their own machine.
     
Requirements

Whether you plan to join from your office or home, you will require:

Recommended:

You might want to join the course early to test your DaDesktop virtual classroom before the actual start date. Note that on days prior to the course, you can only access the desktop for a 15‑minute period.

 

Course Access

Please be aware that access to your course outside of scheduled days is limited to a 15‑minute window.

On the actual course days, you can access it all day long. Previously, this was only available about an hour before the course started.

 

Keeping Your Desktop After the Course Ends

A key benefit of DaDesktop is that course participants are given the option to continue to use their machine once their course finishes

Refer to the link above for complete instructions.


Joining a Course

Click the link provided by your coordinator (e.g., dd4t.dadesktop.com/da/join/xxxxx).

 

Join Course

Image 01

If this is your first time, fill in your information under "Account" and click “Sign Up”. You can register using the form or by signing in with a Google or LinkedIn account.

If you already have an account, simply log in.

You’ll then be taken to the Management Console for your course.

Desktop-view

Image 02

Using the Management Console

Select the "TRAINING ROOM" tab.

Click the "Join Training Room" button.

Join Training Room

Image 03

The Virtual Training Room will launch in a new browser window. A pop‑up will ask permission to copy content to the clipboard. Click "Allow".

Join Training Room as Participant

Image 04

Navigating the Training Room as a Participant

The Training Room displays a tab at the top of the screen containing links back to the course.

Using Training Room as a participant

Image 05

Controls available at bottom of the screen

Pop out chat
 

Using the new Clipboard function

Clipboard Permission RequestTo transfer text—like web links, code snippets, etc.—from your own computer to the virtual machine, we rely on the 'Clipboard'.
 

When you connect to your online course or standalone desktop, a pop‑up similar to the one shown here will appear. Click ‘Allow’. Please note: images cannot be copied via the clipboard in DaDesktop at this time.

Image 06

 

Clipboard ManagementClicking the small clipboard icon in the address bar lets you adjust the clipboard settings for that site.

Usage

Image 07

If you need further help with this feature, please get in touch with us.
 

Original Clipboard (Use Only for Browsers Incompatible with the New Clipboard, e.g., IE, or as a Fallback)

To adjust the size of the clipboard area, click the green‑and‑white arrow icon at the bottom left of the screen.
 

Large ClipboardSmall clipboard

 

DaDesktop Clipboard guide

Image 08


Using the mouse in a multi‑user scenario

This feature shows the username of whoever is controlling the mouse right next to the cursor whenever more than one person is connected to the same desktop. It’s particularly helpful in multi‑user settings and during training when control of the mouse passes between different participants.

Using the mouse in a multi-user scenario example

Image 09

 

When multiple users are connected to the desktop, their names appear in the centre bottom area of the screen.

 

Mouse with current user shown

 

Image 10

You can turn this feature on or off by clicking the ‘Info’ button in green at the bottom of the screen.